How Many Captain America Movies Are There?

Author Lee Cosi

Posted Aug 29, 2022

Reads 97

Library with lights

As of July 2019, eleven Captain America movies have been released: Captain America: The First Avenger (2011), Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014), Captain America: Civil War (2016), Captain America: The First Avenger – 3D (2011), Captain America: The Winter Soldier – 3D (2014), Captain America: Civil War – 3D (2016), Captain America: The First Avenger – An IMAX 3D Experience (2011), Captain America: The Winter Soldier – An IMAX 3D Experience (2014), Captain America: Civil War – An IMAX 3D Experience (2016), and Captain America: The First Avenger – Reconstructed (2011).

Captain America is a superhero who first appeared in comic books published by Marvel Comics. The character was created by writer-editor Stan Lee and artistJack Kirby, and first appeared in Captain America Comics #1 (cover-dated March 1941), from Timely Comics, the predecessor of Marvel Comics. Captain America was designed as a patriotic supersoldier who often fought the Axis powers of World War II and was Timely Comics' most popular character during the wartime period. The character's origin is unique among superheroes in that Captain America gains his abilities through an experimental serum rather than through supernatural means.

After the war ended, Captain America fell out of print until 1954, when the newly formed Marvel Comics revived the character in the superhero team comic The Avengers. Since then, Captain America has appeared in numerous books, television shows, films, and video games. The character was also ranked as the fifth greatest comic book hero of all time by IGN.

Captain America is an enduring and iconic figure in popular culture, and his shield is one of the most recognizable symbols in comics. The character has been played by a number of actors in live-action film and television, most notably by Chris Evans in the Marvel Cinematic Universe.

How many Captain America movies are in production?

As of July 2019, there are three Captain America movies in production. Captain America: The Winter Soldier is currently in post-production, with Captain America: Civil War set to begin filming in August 2015. Captain America: The First Avenger 2 is also in development, with a release date set for May 6, 2016.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Captain America movie series?

Captain America is a superhero film series based on the Marvel Comics character Captain America, and part of the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) series. The series is centered on Steve Rogers, a man from World War II era Brooklyn who is transformed into super-soldier Captain America.

How many MCU movies has Captain America been in?

There have been 11 MCU movies, six of which are starring Chris Evans.

How many Captain America solo movies have there been?

There have been three Captain America solo movies: Captain America: The First Avenger, Captain America: The Winter Soldier, and Captain America: Civil War.

When did Captain America become a regular Marvel character?

Captain America first appeared as a regular character in the 2010–2013 series, from issue #1 (July 2010) through its final issue #34 (January 2013).

What kind of character is Captain America?

Captain America is a patriotic superhero who fought for freedom and justice during World War II. After being frozen in ice for decades, he is restored to his former glory by Iron Man and The Avengers and becomes an ally of Marvel's superhero team, The Defenders.

Lee Cosi

Lee Cosi

Writer at CGAA

View Lee's Profile

Lee Cosi is an experienced article author and content writer. He has been writing for various outlets for over 5 years, with a focus on lifestyle topics such as health, fitness, travel, and finance. His work has been featured in publications such as Men's Health Magazine, Forbes Magazine, and The Huffington Post.

View Lee's Profile